U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

NIH Library National Institutes of Health Library

Hospital Data

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (AHRQ)

  • The HCUP pronounced "H-CUP") is a collection of databases and related software tools and products is made possible by a Federal-State-Industry partnership sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUPnet is an on-line query system that gives you instant access to the largest set of all-payer health care databases that are publicly available. Using HCUPnet's query system, you can generate tables and graphs on national and regional statistics and trends for community hospitals in the U.S. In addition, community hospital data are available for those States that have agreed to participate in HCUPnet.

Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS)

  • NIS is a database of hospital inpatient stays that can be used to identify, track, and analyze national trends in health care utilization, access, charges, quality, and outcomes.

Kids' Inpatient Database (KID)

  • KID is a database of hospital inpatient stays for children. KID was specifically designed to permit researchers to study a broad range of conditions and procedures related to child health issues.

Nationwide Emergency Department Sample (NEDS)

  • The Nationwide Emergency Department Sample (NEDS) is a database of national estimates of emergency department (ED) visits.

State Inpatient Databases (SID)

  • The State Inpatient Databases (SID) are a set of hospital databases from data organizations in participating states, that contain clinical and resource use information included in a typical discharge abstract, with safeguards to protect the privacy of individual patients, physicians, and hospitals (as required by data sources) (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 2013a.

State Ambulatory Surgery Databases (SASD)

  • The State Ambulatory Surgery Databases (SASD) capture surgeries performed on the same day in which patients are admitted and released (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 2013a.

State Emergency Department Databases (SEDD)

  • The State Emergency Department Databases (SEDD) contain data on discharge information on all emergency department visits that do not result in an admission (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 2013a). Information on patients initially seen in the emergency room and then admitted to the hospital is included in the State Inpatient Databases (SID) (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 2013a).