This script includes a file that enables the menu rollovers for supported browsers.

NIH Library Logo
Amazing Research. Amazing Help. For the Public  |  FAQ  |  Help  |  Site Map        
NIH Library Logo
 |  Library Services  |  Research Tools  |  Custom Services  |  Resource Training  |  About Us  |          
Channel Top image Channel Title image
Channel bottom image
Ask a Librarian
Search




Quick Links

Online Catalog

Online Journals

Order a Document

PubMed @ NIH

Scopus
Web of Science
Sign-Up For

Library Email News

PubMed Document Delivery
Research Updates
   |   Databases

Databases A-Z
A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z   All  
1
Item NameCoverage DatesTraining
Access Science  Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.  
AGRICOLA  AGRICOLA indexes 2,000 serials as well as books, pamphlets, conference proceedings, research reports, government documents, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual content, and microforms pertaining to all aspects of agriculture. The topics covered in this database include: agriculture, agronomy, animal science, biology, biotechnology, botany, breeding, chemistry, conservation, crop management, dairy science, ecology, entomology, farm management, feed science, fertilizers, food and nutrition, forestry, horticulture, hydrology, hydroponics, microbiology, nutrition, pesticides, physiology, plant science, pollution, soil science, water quality, and zoology. 1979 - present NIH Library
Associations Unlimited  Online version of Encyclopedia of Associations, v. 1, National Organizations of the U.S.  
Beilstein  The Beilstein database is the most complete collection of chemical structures and properties and references to the literature in organic chemistry. Present Request a Tutorial
Biological Abstracts  Biological Abstracts® encompasses the entire field of life sciences and provides comprehensive coverage of the world’s published biological and biomedical research. This includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. The database includes short communications such as technical notes and letters. 1990-
BooksInPrint.com   BooksinPrint.com(TM) is a bibliographic database of over 5 million book, audio book, and video titles, including in print, out of print and forthcoming publications.   Vendor site
Cardiosource Plus    
CINAHL Plus  The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.  The CINAHL Plus database indexes over 3,200 journals and includes access to other sources such as evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, research instruments, and continuing education modules. 1937-
ClinicalTrials.gov  ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. ClinicalTrials.gov gives information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. The information provided on ClinicalTrials.gov should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals.   NLM site
Cochrane Library  The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews (Methodology Reviews),  The Cochrane Methodology Register (Methodology Register), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) and About The Cochrane Collaboration and the Cochrane Collaborative Review Groups (About).   Vendor site
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols  Coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging.   Vendor site
Community of Science Expertise Database  Community of Science® (COS) brings together international scientists and researchers at more than 1,600 universities, corporations and government agencies worldwide. The Expertise database contains more than 480,000 first-person profiles of researchers from over 1,600 institutions worldwide.   Vendor site
CRISP  CRISP (Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects) is a searchable database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. The database, maintained by the Office of Extramural Research at the National Institutes of Health, includes projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMHSA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDCP), Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ), and Office of Assistant Secretary of Health (OASH). Users, including the public, can use the CRISP interface to search for scientific concepts, emerging trends and techniques, or identify specific projects and/or investigators. 1972- CRISP site
Current Index to Statistics   The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from 162 core journals (as of 2003) that are fully indexed, non-core journals from which articles are selected that have statistical content, proceedings and edited books, and other sources.   Vendor site
Current Index to Statistics Extended Database    
DrugPoints® System    
EcoSal  EcoSal is the continually updated Web resource based on the classic ASM Press publication Escherichia coli and Salmonella: Cellular and Molecular Biology. 
EcoSal is an archive of the entire corpus of knowledge on the enteric bacterial cell with  several hundred modules of information and interpretation with links to cognate sites containing extensive tabular and pictorial presentations, as well as to active databases of primary research information.   Vendor site
eFacts  eFacts® is the online Facts and Comparisons, the leader in drug information for the pharmacy. Drug information, interactions, herbal information, and patient medication handouts are constantly updated.  Resources available: A To Z Drug Facts, Cancer Chemo Manual,  Drug Facts & Comparisons, Drug Identifier, Drug Interaction Facts, Herbal Interaction Facts, Investigational Drugs from Drug Facts & Comparisons, MedFacts Patient Information, Nonprescription Drug Therapy, Off-Label Drug Facts and Review of Natural Products. Present Vendor site
EMBASE.com  EMBASE.com offers access to pharmacological and biomedical literature. Subject coverage includes: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, pharmacy, drug side effects and interactions, toxicology, human medicine (clinical and experimental), basic biological sciences, biotechnology, biomedical, medical devices, engineering and instrumentation, health policy and management, pharmacoeconomics, public and occupational health, environmental health, pollution control, substance dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic science, alternative and complementary medicine and nursing. 1974- NIH Library
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online  A-Z Browse, Subject Browse, Video Collection of video clips  and extended play videos, world atlas, compare information about any two countries, timelines, the year in review. Includes the Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus.  
ExPub -Toxicology Collection  ExPub-Expert Publishing, government produced information on Toxic Effects, provides unique point of access to: 

ATSDR-Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
CPDB-Carcinogenic Potency Database
CERHR-Center for the Evaluation of Risks to Human Reproduction 
NIOSH-National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health 
RTECS® - Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances
REPROTOX® from the Reproductive Toxicology Center
EPA, WHO, EC and National Toxicology Program Database Collections  
Faculty of 1000 Biology  Faculty of 1000 Biology highlights and reviews papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 1000 selected leading researchers and provides a consensus map of the important papers and trends across biology. 
Faculty of 1000 highlights papers on the basis of their scientific merit, offers the researcher a consensus of recommendations from well over 1000 leading scientists and offers an immediate rating of individual papers by the authors' peers.   Vendor site (PowerPoint)
Federal Register   Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. 1994-
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)  HAPI provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. 1985 - present NIH Library
Impact Factors - Journal Citation Reports  The Journal Citation Reports® is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations. The JCR is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and the social sciences. For every journal covered, the following information is collected or calculated: citation and article counts, impact factor, immediacy index, cited half-life, citing half-life, source data listing, citing journal listing, cited journal listing, subject categories, publisher information and journal title changes.   NIH Library
IndexCat: Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office  IndexCat is the National Library of Medicine's digital version of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office (Index Catalogue). The Index-Catalogue contains material dated from the 1400s through 1950 and is an important resource for researchers in the history of medicine, history of science, and for clinical research. 
The scope of Index-Catalogue extends beyond medicine and includes the basic sciences, scientific research, military medicine, public health, and hospital administration. Language coverage is international with citations in European and Slavic languages, Greek script, and Romanized Chinese and Japanese titles - some with English translations. The catalogue covers a wide assortment of materials including: books, journal articles, dissertations, pamphlets, reports, newspaper clippings, case studies, obituary notices, letters, portraits, as well as rare books and manuscripts. 1892-1961 NLM site
Journal Citation Reports  The Journal Citation Reports® is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international, and incorporates journals from over 3,000 publishers in 60 nations. The JCR is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and the social sciences. For every journal covered, the following information is collected or calculated: citation and article counts, impact factor, immediacy index, cited half-life, citing half-life, source data listing, citing journal listing, cited journal listing, subject categories, publisher information and journal title changes. 1997- NIH Library
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology  "Written by prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions, the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed."  
Lexis-Nexis  Rsources for professionals in law firms, corporations, government, law enforcement, tax, accounting, academic institutions and risk and compliance assessment. varies
MathSciNet  The American Mathematical Society's MathSciNet covers the world's mathematical literature since 1940. MathSciNet provides links to original articles and other original documents, when available. It includes linked reference lists from selected journals. MathSciNet offers access to reviews from the Mathematical Reviews database that were especially commissioned for some of the books and papers that are considered particularly important in the areas that they cover.   NIH Library
MDConsult  The MDConsult Core Collection is comprised of medical reference books, medical journals and clinics, MEDLINE, comprehensive drug information, peer-reviewed clinical practice guidelines, over 9,500 customizable patient education handouts, daily personalized clinical updates and online CME. 2002- Vendor site
Medical Dictionary for Regulatory Activities-MedDRA  MedDRA is a new international medical terminology dictionary designed to support the classification, retrieval, presentation, and communication of medical information throughout the medical product regulatory cycle. In addition, it is the adverse event classification dictionary and it has become the standard for adverse event reporting in the USA. MedDRA terminology applies to all phases of drug development, excluding animal toxicology. It also applies to the health effects and malfunction of devices; it does not cover “clinical nomenclature.
 
MEDLINE